Cessna Silver Eagle Forums
Cessna Silver Eagle Forums
Search | User Listing Forums | Albums | Quotes | Language
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Genesys Digital AP
Jump to page : 1 2
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   P210 Silver Eagle -> AvionicsMessage format
 
Georg Kraus
Posted 2017-01-25 4:39 PM (#1834)
Subject: Genesys Digital AP



Veteran

Posts: 238
10010025
Location: EDRY
Good News...I got the info that they will take the P210 on the first wave of STC's :-)

Will keep you updated!
Top of the page Bottom of the page
blymburn
Posted 2017-01-25 11:00 PM (#1835 - in reply to #1834)
Subject: RE: Genesys Digital AP


Member

Posts: 17

Location: Oakland, California (KOAK)
Great!
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Daniel Arredondo
Posted 2017-03-18 9:49 AM (#1844 - in reply to #1834)
Subject: Re: Genesys Digital AP


Member

Posts: 16

https://generalaviationnews.com/2017/03/15/deal-gives-free-transpond...

IT SEEMS THEY ALREADY HAVE AN STC FOR THE 210! What benefits do you see on up-grading the STEC 55X to this autopilot??
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Georg Kraus
Posted 2017-03-18 9:54 AM (#1845 - in reply to #1834)
Subject: Re: Genesys Digital AP



Veteran

Posts: 238
10010025
Location: EDRY
The 2100 is too expensive for our planes. The real advantage of a digital AP is:

- IAS-hold in climb
- Digital VS-Control (not just barometric as in the S-Tec)
- Envelope-control
Top of the page Bottom of the page
blymburn
Posted 2017-03-18 10:45 AM (#1846 - in reply to #1834)
Subject: Re: Genesys Digital AP


Member

Posts: 17

Location: Oakland, California (KOAK)
$53,400+ for the 2100, plus installation and optional equipment. http://genesys-aerosystems.com/sites/default/files/files/GenesysAer...
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Georg Kraus
Posted 2017-03-18 10:51 AM (#1847 - in reply to #1834)
Subject: Re: Genesys Digital AP



Veteran

Posts: 238
10010025
Location: EDRY
I know...let's wait another 6 month!

Top of the page Bottom of the page
Robert Nicolas
Posted 2017-03-18 5:03 PM (#1848 - in reply to #1834)
Subject: Re: Genesys Digital AP


Veteran

Posts: 157
1002525
The price of $53,400 I'm sure is for a complete A/P system, you only actually need the DFC2100 computer the servos are all the same, plus they are already installed in your SE...The installation of the computer would be minimal....from what I understand and the inquires I have made with S-TEC over the last few years...Robert
Top of the page Bottom of the page
blymburn
Posted 2017-03-18 5:57 PM (#1849 - in reply to #1848)
Subject: Re: Genesys Digital AP


Member

Posts: 17

Location: Oakland, California (KOAK)
Thanks Bob. How much is the 2100 installed in a SE? Anybody you know done it? If so, what do they think?

Probably still makes sense to wait a few months for a less expensive digital AP, as Georg says, but I'm interested in knowing the cost difference between the 2100 and the new one.

Top of the page Bottom of the page
Georg Kraus
Posted 2017-03-18 5:59 PM (#1850 - in reply to #1834)
Subject: Re: Genesys Digital AP



Veteran

Posts: 238
10010025
Location: EDRY
Nobody is able to give you an answer at the moment, but I assume that the price of the new one will be closer to the actual 55x than to the 2100
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Georg Kraus
Posted 2017-03-18 6:00 PM (#1851 - in reply to #1834)
Subject: Re: Genesys Digital AP



Veteran

Posts: 238
10010025
Location: EDRY
if someone else is interested...PM me...I am building a buyers-list toward genesys...
Top of the page Bottom of the page
jhughes11
Posted 2017-06-08 5:45 AM (#1868 - in reply to #1851)
Subject: Re: Genesys Digital AP


Member

Posts: 30
25
Any updates on this?
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Georg Kraus
Posted 2017-06-10 12:36 AM (#1869 - in reply to #1834)
Subject: Re: Genesys Digital AP



Veteran

Posts: 238
10010025
Location: EDRY
Not for the moment. Timeline seems to be fall/year-end
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Georg Kraus
Posted 2018-01-29 4:43 PM (#2065 - in reply to #1834)
Subject: Re: Genesys Digital AP



Veteran

Posts: 238
10010025
Location: EDRY
News from Genesys for our Silver Eagle. There is a special offer. I shared it already with the SEOPA members. If you are interested pm me...
Top of the page Bottom of the page
lmamane
Posted 2018-01-30 12:48 AM (#2066 - in reply to #2065)
Subject: Re: Genesys Digital AP


Member

Posts: 18

Location: ELLX
Do you have confirmation on the question whether it will take the altitude preselect, the vertical speed (in vertical speed mode), the IAS (in IAS hold mode, the barometric setting, etc, etc from the Garmin G500?
Top of the page Bottom of the page
lmamane
Posted 2018-01-30 12:56 AM (#2067 - in reply to #1834)
Subject: Re: Genesys Digital AP


Member

Posts: 18

Location: ELLX
The documentation you sent says "The Cessna 182 and Cessna 210 will only be offered as 2-Axis systems". This seems to suggest that we would lose the yaw damper, if we already have one on our STEC 55X.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
jhughes11
Posted 2018-01-30 6:08 AM (#2068 - in reply to #2067)
Subject: Re: Genesys Digital AP


Member

Posts: 30
25
According to my shop the yaw damper is standalone and continues to operate as it does today.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Georg Kraus
Posted 2018-01-30 9:13 AM (#2069 - in reply to #1834)
Subject: Re: Genesys Digital AP



Veteran

Posts: 238
10010025
Location: EDRY
this is also my understanding
Top of the page Bottom of the page
blymburn
Posted 2018-01-30 9:40 AM (#2070 - in reply to #1834)
Subject: Re: Genesys Digital AP


Member

Posts: 17

Location: Oakland, California (KOAK)
One big attraction for me is to be able to set an airspeed on the auto pilot. How is that done? Through the G500 or G500txi?
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Georg Kraus
Posted 2018-02-02 1:53 AM (#2074 - in reply to #1834)
Subject: Re: Genesys Digital AP



Veteran

Posts: 238
10010025
Location: EDRY
IAS (or FLC) will be done on the AP
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Georg Kraus
Posted 2018-02-02 1:54 AM (#2075 - in reply to #1834)
Subject: Re: Genesys Digital AP



Veteran

Posts: 238
10010025
Location: EDRY
Here the Answer from Genesys


· The documentation you sent says "The Cessna 182 and Cessna 210 will only be offered as 2-Axis systems". This seems to suggest that we would lose the yaw damper, if we already have one on our STEC 55X.“
There were no Yaw Damper STC’s available for the 182 and 210 models for the 55X and are not included in the 3100 STC list.
If we already have a yaw damper STC on our current AP’s we will most likely offer it as an option to the 3100.
Bear in mind – we do not integrate to 3rd party Yaw Dampers that may be on the aircraft.

· Do you have confirmation on the question whether it will take the altitude preselect, the vertical speed (in vertical speed mode), the IAS (in IAS hold mode, the barometric setting, etc, etc from the Garmin G500?
The G500/600 interface will allow the 3100 to read ALT and VS bugs from the G500/600 EFIS display. If you set these bugs on the 3100 bezel then they will be updated on the G500/600 display.
The G500/600 doesn’t offer an IAS bug so that mode will be controlled through the 3100 Bezel and the IAS targets set by using the UP/DN buttons.

· When you purchase a complete S-Tec 3100 kit with servos, are the new servos A/C electric instead of the D/C type that we currently have
The servos are the same DC servos we use for our current AP’s as they provide better performance. DC motors develop constant torque over a wide speed application making it a better choice than an AC motor. Retaining the current servos allows for an economical upgrade path if an existing S-TEC AP is installed.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
153201
Posted 2018-02-02 1:57 AM (#2076 - in reply to #2075)
Subject: Re: Genesys Digital AP



Regular

Posts: 62
2525
Worth noting: whilst not all 210 applications of the 55X have the YD option, the P210N DOES as is noted in Genesys' listing of applicable models.


Edited by 153201 2018-02-02 1:58 AM
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Georg Kraus
Posted 2018-02-02 2:00 AM (#2077 - in reply to #1834)
Subject: Re: Genesys Digital AP



Veteran

Posts: 238
10010025
Location: EDRY
I have a YD already in my Silver Eagle...so it will be -hopefullly" more or less a "plug and play" installation
Top of the page Bottom of the page
153201
Posted 2018-02-02 2:04 AM (#2078 - in reply to #1834)
Subject: Re: Genesys Digital AP



Regular

Posts: 62
2525
What I would really like to know before committing to what looks to be a very positive upgrade is this: will the STEC 3100 do a better job of flying our aircraft precisely (eg intercepts, heading turns, glideslope capture....) than the 55X (which tends to hunt before it captures) - or will it be a similar performance albeit with the additional feautures (like envelope protection and airspeed hold)? All the sales pitch is around features rather than performance. Can Genesys give us a steer (pun intended) on this? If so, my order will be in the post.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Georg Kraus
Posted 2018-02-02 2:06 AM (#2079 - in reply to #1834)
Subject: Re: Genesys Digital AP



Veteran

Posts: 238
10010025
Location: EDRY
I think nobody has an answer to this question. I will certainly be one of the first movers...as soon as I have it in my plane, I will keep you updated :- )
Top of the page Bottom of the page
153201
Posted 2018-02-02 3:19 AM (#2080 - in reply to #2079)
Subject: Re: Genesys Digital AP



Regular

Posts: 62
2525
OK, on the basis of received wisdom that attitude-based APs beat rate-based ones on larger and faster airframes, I have asked my shop to raise an order.

D
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Jump to page : 1 2
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
Jump to forum :
Search this forum
Printer friendly version
E-mail a link to this thread

Registered to: Silver Eagle Forum
(Delete all cookies set by this site)
Running MegaBBS ASP Forum Software
© 2002-2018 PD9 Software